Splurge or Steal: Eyeliner Edition

Calling all cat eyes!

One of the beauty products I’ve used most often in my makeup routine is a liquid eyeliner pen. I love a good winged liner – a classic cat eye can really transform your eyes.

For years I’ve been using the Essence Eyeliner Pen – I mean, how can you go wrong with a $4 eyeliner?

image1

This eyeliner by Essence is a great option, especially for makeup-lovers on a budget. It’s easy to apply, very pigmented and it’s available at most drugstores.

After many re-purchases, though, I began to wonder if a high end eyeliner really makes a difference. Will the formula be more long lasting? Will the pen tip last longer? Will the product have a longer life? Is the extra $20 worth it?

I decided to compare Kat Von D’s Tattoo Liner in Trooper to my regular go-to, since it’s the eyeliner pen I’ve heard most about.

Here’s the verdict:

I say SPLURGE!

If you’re somebody who wears a winged liner frequently, I definitely recommend testing out the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner. It makes a huge difference, in my opinion.

image1 (7)

Rather than a felt tip, this liner has tiny bristles that prevent the tip from dulling. Felt tip liner pens tend to wear out fairly quickly, whereas these bristles seem to deliver a precise wing time after time.

I find it a lot easier to do a super cut winged liner look with the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner as opposed to the Essence Eyeliner Pen. I’m able to make my eyeliner SO much neater with the bristle pen tip.

Unfortunately, the Essence Eyeliner Pen dries out very quickly. I’ve never minded this flaw only because the price was unbeatable. I would often store my Essence pen with the top end tilted downward so that the product would gather at one end. This avoided the pen running out of liner mid-swipe.

In contrast to the quickly fading Essence pen, my Kat Von D liner has lasted weeks so far without running out. Every application is easy, precise and jet black.

In my opinion, if you’re on a tight budget, you really can’t go wrong with a $4 eyeliner. I did it for years. On the other hand, if you wear eyeliner regularly, the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner is definitely worth the splurge. It has a much longer life and it will make perfecting your cat eye much easier.

image2 (2)

Will I repurchase?

Although I love this liner, I know there are so many options for liquid liner and I’m now ready to explore my options. I’m definitely happy with the product, though, and I would recommend it to those on who are looking for a great liner option.

The next liquid liner I want to test out is the NYX Cosmetics Vinyl Liquid Liner. I’ve heard great things about NYX’s liners, and the price is very reasonable at $10.

I’ve also heard a lot of great things about gel liner pots, but I am so incredibly intimidated by that style of application. I do plan on trying out this method, though, as soon as my budget is a little more permitting.

What’s your favourite liquid liner? Have you tried any NYX liquid liners? Do you have experience with gel liner pots – and do you have any tips?

Leave me a comment – I’d love to hear from you!

signoff

 

 

10 thoughts on “Splurge or Steal: Eyeliner Edition

  1. sprallice says:

    I have been using brush tip eyeliners, and so recently I got a felt tip eyeliner, and I find it so hard! I don’t know if it is the eyeliner or me.. I just thought that finding a good felt tip eyeliner can be hard as I guess they should either be soft or dense and not both.
    /Alice xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Natalie Vinh says:

    I’ve always used the $2 elf one since it’s so cheap, but it does has it’s downsides! I’ve been wanting to try the Kat Von D one, so this post was totally helpful!

    Like

  3. Stephanie Grace says:

    The Kat Von D Tattoo liner is my ultimate favourite, I’m not usually a fan of NYX’s eyeliners but I’ve been trying their Epic Ink liner which is very similar so that could be a good one for you to test out but remember to shake it or you’ll end up with a disaster! Anyway i nominated you for the Mystery Blogger Award I would love it if you could check it out and take part! x
    https://stephaniegracealt.wordpress.com/2017/08/15/the-mystery-blogger-award/

    Like

Leave a Reply

