International Women’s Day

Hello!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted on Mascara and Mosh Pits – life has been quite the roller coaster lately.

I decided it was incredibly important, however, to post today for International Women’s Day.

Today I’d like to honour my mother – the most positive role model I could ask for. Somehow I was lucky enough to be raised by a kind, patient, selfless, compassionate, and dedicated mother who is beautiful inside and out.

My mom has always taught me to care for and respect others, to always see both sides of the story and to help those in need. She works as a nurse and I could not imagine a more perfect career for such a generous and kind woman.

I always remind myself how lucky I am to have a role model like my mom, and recently she has reached out and has been there for me more than ever. I feel like the luckiest daughter in the world.

My mother has raised me to be independent, strong, and to have a big heart like hers. She has taught me not to sweat the little things, and that dancing in the kitchen is the best recipe for a good day.

It’s because of my mom and her support that I am able to be proud of who I am. 

 

I can’t stress enough how important it is to support other women instead of putting them down. It’s also crucial to remember that on International Women’s Day, we recognize ALL women, on an intersectional level.

SO, today spread some love to the women in your life – despite their race, religion, sexual orientation – whether they are cisgender or transgender.

And don’t forget to give yourself some love, too. Self-love is so important! Too often we are taught that we are not enough, so today, remind yourself how kickass you really are 🙂

What role models are you thankful for on International Women’s Day? Leave a comment! 

signoff

One thought on “International Women’s Day

Leave a Reply

