2017 Juno Awards Nominations

Hi music lovers!

I’ll be honest, I’m not usually very interested in award ceremonies. I don’t think I’ve ever watched a full award ceremony for more than a few minutes now that I think of it…

ANYWAY…

This year I’m really excited for the Juno Awards because three really amazing bands from Toronto are nominated:

Nominated for “Breakthrough Group of the Year”

  • The Dirty Nil

Nominated for “Alternative Album of the Year”

  • Weaves
  • Dilly Dally

These bands are so deserving of these nominations and I’m hoping the ceremony works out in their favour!

The Dirty Nil

The Dirty Nil is a band I’ve only started listening to recently. They are such an amazing punk/rock band and I love all of their songs.

Mentionable songs by them that you should check out are:

  • Fuckin’ Up Young
  • Zombie Eyed
  • Wrestle Yü To Hüsker Dü

Weaves 

Weaves is a really cool, quirky band from Toronto. I honestly don’t know too much of their music but their sound is awesome and really unique! The first song I ever heard from them was actually a cover of the One Direction song “Drag Me Down”, which sounded nothing like the original (in a very good way).

Songs to check out my Weaves:

  • One More
  • Coo Coo
  • Drag Me Down

Dilly Dally

If you’ve been following my blog since the beginning, you may have read my post, “Feature Band: Dilly Dally

I am obsessed with Dilly Dally. I had the opportunity to see them live in 2016 at a small venue in Toronto, and they were incredible. When I first started listening to them, they didn’t have much of a following, but they’ve come so far since then! I’m so so excited to see them getting recognized.

My favourites by Dilly Dally:

  • Snake Head
  • Green
  • Candy Mountain
  • Witch Man
img_0814

Dilly Dally at Lee’s Palace – Toronto, ON (Dec. 2/2016)

So…

If you haven’t already listened to these bands, go give them a listen! They’re so incredible and I’m so stoked that Toronto has such a great music scene right now.

Feature image source: news.nationalpost.com

signoff

Leave a Reply

