Benefit Watt’s Up Cream Highlighter

Hello!

Today I’m going to review the Watt’s Up! highlighter by Benefit Cosmetics – because it’s been a rollercoaster, let me tell you.

I had my eye on this product for SO long so I forked out the $40 it costs for one of these babies and brought one home.

16409555_378283369212239_613792585_o

FIRST – I have to be honest. I am not a makeup artist or a makeup expert. I’m still learning  A LOT about makeup. One thing I’m still getting the hang of is this whole highlight/contour business.

Every time I contour my face, I’m tweaking where and how I apply it to make it look better. Practice makes perfect, right?

When I first bought the Watt’s Up highlighter, I was soooooo disappointed. All I could think was how it was wrong for my skin tone, it made my makeup look caked on, and the only thing it highlighted were my pores.

It didn’t occur to me until much later that it wasn’t the product – it was how I was applying it.

Every time I would apply this highlighter, I would first highlight with the NYX Wonder Stick, then layer on the Watt’s Up! cream highlighter.

It wasn’t until recently that I tried the Watt’s Up Highlighter again, but without the NYX highlight underneath.

My highlight looked flawless and I became obsessed.

MORAL OF THE STORY…

Do not layer the NYX Wonder Stick with the Benefit Watt’s Up highlighter stick. Just don’t do it. Pores for days.

Have you ever had mixed emotions about a product? Have any of your favourites given you a bad first impression? Leave a comment!

signoff

 

10 thoughts on “Benefit Watt’s Up Cream Highlighter

  1. joyfullystylish says:

    Love this!…I’ve never tried this particular highlighter, but I do love Benefits “Girl Meets Pearl” highlight! I’m glad you found a way to make it work! Too often I’m in such a rush, I don’t really play around with my makeup enough but you can really learn a lot that way! Great post! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shai says:

    I’m in the same struggle! I’m still learning how to properly highlight and contour my face for *my face shape* and it’s so difficult! I recently bought NYX Bright Idea Cream Highlighter, used it today for a look and didn’t know how I felt about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kippinsbeautyblog says:

    I had bought and initially disliked the Catrice High Glow Mineral Highlighting Powder. It’s not a bam 💥 see it from space highlight so I dismissed it. But after a while and reading a few reviews on it I realised it was supposed to be a subtle highlight. Once I accepted this I fell in love with it especially for day to day use.
    Great post 👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

