Review: Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette

Happy Friday! 

So I actually purchased the Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette on the Sephora website by mistake (oops!) The palette I meant to buy was the Tartelette In Bloom Clay Palette, but I didn’t realize my mistake until the package was delivered.

The main reason why I was disappointed with this mistake is that I already have SO many matte eyeshadows and was looking for a few new shimmer/metallic shades.

I thought about returning the palette in exchange for the In Bloom palette, but can you ever have too many shades of eyeshadow? I don’t think so.

16326628_375113269529249_1572491836_o

S/O to Penny for modelling the palette with her tail

16357502_375113259529250_2107050964_o

OVERALL THOUGHTS:

It’s a great, natural palette and I like the colours a lot. Unfortunately, the colours are not as pigmented as I would have liked them to be. You can see the swatches below:

16325797_375113266195916_816375115_o

FROM LEFT TO RIGHT: fashionista, bombshell, multi-tasker, power player, best friend, dreamer, wanderer, natural beauty, force of nature, super mom, caregiver, free spirit

To make the swatches as dark as they are I had to go over the spot quite a few times. I was pretty disappointed.

Another thing I’ll add is that this palette is pretty similar to my Too Faced Natural Matte Palette. And, if I had to choose between the Too Faced palette or the Tartelette palette, I would choose Too Faced hands down. I like the colours better and the formula is better. The palette has 3 less colours than the Tartelette and still wins. Sorry Tarte.

16357969_376333416073901_348498706_o

Too Faced Natural Matte Palette (left), Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette (right)

All in all, I don’t hate the palette. It’s great for everyday makeup and I actually mix and match the shades with the Too Faced palette a lot.

BUT, I do wish I didn’t make that mistake and I wish I ordered the Tartelette In Bloom Clay Palette (like I meant to). So sad. Next time.

Final Rating: 7/10

What’s your favourite eyeshadow palette? Any suggestions for a shimmer/metallic palette? Leave a comment! 🙂

XOXO -C

7 thoughts on “Review: Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette

  1. Alyssa says:

    My favorite palettes are definitely the Lorac Pro palettes. I haven’t tried Tarte’s eyeshadow, but I have tried too faced and I thought they were okay. I got the La Belle Carousel a few Christmases ago and the quality was hit and miss. Some were buttery and pigmented while others seemed dusty. I haven’t tried a palette that wasn’t limited edition from them, so maybe I will now! I’ve been thinking about getting one of the Too Faced chocolate bar palettes, have you tried any of them?

    Like

Leave a Reply

