Essential Oil Acne Treatment

Hello!!

I wanted to post this natural way to battle acne because acne is something I’ve been struggling with since I was twelve. I was actually prescribed Accutane as a young teen because my cystic acne was so awful. My skin has definitely improved since then but I still struggle with breakouts quite frequently.

Something I have found to make a big difference with my skin during breakouts is 100% tea tree oil. This essential oil is known to dry out pimples without leaving any scars like rubbing alcohol would.

16357534_375694516137791_591284196_o

I purchased this tea tree oil from a drug store for $11 Canadian

When my skin is being problematic, I add a few drops of tea tree oil to my facial moisturizer and apply that to my entire face. Just be careful not to rub the mixture near your eyes – I find that area to be really sensitive and angry when it comes into contact with tea tree oil.

I have, in the past, put a few drops of tea tree oil on a cotton swab and applied it directly to a pimple or problem area. I’ve heard mixed messages on whether or not that is okay to do, so use your own discretion on that technique.

I like using tea tree oil because I’m not using any harsh chemicals or ingredients that I’m unsure about. Depending on the severity of the breakout, tea tree oil can clear my face overnight – it can be a huge life saver!

Do you have any natural skincare remedies? Leave a comment, I’d love to learn! 🙂 

XOXO -C

6 thoughts on “Essential Oil Acne Treatment

Leave a Reply

